top of page

Spring into Spring-


"For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing."Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

Am I the only one that is totally confused with the weather these days? 70 degrees one day of the week and inches of snow in the forecast for another day this week!

With Robins nested in my backyard trees and the sun shining, I decided to put away the sleds, winter wreaths & cable knit throws and 'Springify' my home a little early this year!

Yes I know that snow is in the forecast and I know that technically we are still in Winter until March 20th but- I was ready and had the energy and motivation to do it so I did!

Maybe you are a little further south and Spring is even more

in the air in your part of the world or maybe you are a skeptic and think we will get snow in April this year- either way, at some point Spring will make its way to your home!

This is the time of year I start to come out of hibernation. A change of season brings about a shift within ourselves as well; a desire to change up how we look, feel, think; an urge to start anew.

"Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me." Psalm 51:10

To help get ourselves into the spring mindset, we can first create a springtime atmosphere within our homes — an atmosphere that will allow growth, energy, creativity, and happiness to thrive this new season. I am thankful on these pre-Spring days that the days are getting longer and the sun is shining brighter. Here are my tips on creating a spring atmosphere in your home!

I always love a home filled with bits of nature like beautiful twigs and dried flowers, but spring calls for something fresher. Fill your home with fresh greens — like ferns or fresh herbs as well as potted flowers and fresh cut bouquets. You’ll feel like you’re living inside your very own secret garden. I do not have a green thumb however, so this can be hard for me- I say get a few fake herbs, a few fake flowers and spruce up your home. I will say when it comes to fake flowers, sometimes you have to pay a little more to get "good looking" fakes. Don't get from dollar general or the dollar tree and expect them to look real, try a florist shop or Hobby Lobby for the good ones!

No print says “spring” like pretty ditsy florals or pastels. As much as pastels are beautiful, there is a place for them and my husband certainly wouldn't be fond of me having a pastel pink, purple & yellow living room. Instead bring out the floral pillowcases, tablecloths, and curtains, and don’t forget to dress yourself in floral prints, as well. Just be sure it isn't too much. Keep with coordinating colors throughout your home and personally I stay with more muted floral prints. Being surrounded by flowers — even if they’re just images — will ignite new life within yourself, there is something about the beauty of God's imagination and design when it comes to flowers and the colors, shapes & sizes of all the different types of plants.

Another tip I have is layering, layer old books, plates, napkins to create dimension and texture. I fill laterns or birdcages I've gotten at garage sales with eggs or even a potted plant to add a little something extra. Use things you already have. Look around your home for old books, florals, candle holders, lanterns & neutral dishes. Sometimes the best thing we can do is just rearrange and redesign using what we already have.

When shopping, get things that can be used for multiple seasons, neutral color, neutral design but add a few 'seasonal pieces'. In my case, I added moss bunnies from Home Goods, a few burlap eggs, a bunny from Hobby Lobby and a few chicks I found at an antique store. These are things I store in a 'spring' tub but the other pieces are just out all year or stored in a 'decor' tub.

When it comes to outside it gets tricky. My momma always said don't buy flowers until after Mother's Day!! Well what am I supposed to do until then?!? I say twigs and fakes! Use fake ferns from hobby lobby, use fake boxwoods (these can be an investment but can be up ALL YEAR!) and use a few fake pretties! In my case, I found a pair of cement boots at At Home and stuck a few fake florals down in them and called it good. It doesn't have to be fussy or require constant upkeep! These will be perfect all Spring long!

When it comes to a big statement piece, I am all about multi use so I buy something I can have up for a longggg time. This baseball sign will go from Spring training until October hopefully! GO ROYALS! I don't have to keep up all spring and summer but I can and that helps my mind and my pocketbook! You can also have someone make or you make a WELCOME sign and that can get you through all year as well

I hope these few ideas on how to 'Spring into Spring' were helpful and you can love your home this season. May God bless you and yours with a wonderful Spring! -Valyssa

"Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!" 2 Corinthians 5:17

bottom of page